disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
It's nine a.m., and I finished a five-hour walk about half an hour ago. I never walk for five hours straight; usually I do three hours in the morning and more later in the day. I have in my legs that wonderful ache that comes after a workout that is good but not overwhelming. I'm used to feeling it only in my upper body, after a weightlifting session. "Ache" is not the right word because it doesn't hurt. It feels good.

I've got another homemade pizza in the toaster oven, I finished my overdue Mandarin flashcards yesterday, and I'm gonna relax and watch G.J. Lee Ukelele Channel. I feel fortunate because I've found a vlogger who

1. is male
2. speaks Mandarin
3. adds subtitles
4. is on Odysee
5. doesn't have one of those grating, circus-like adhd channels full of music, sudden video cuts, and random memes.

That pizza was very satisfying. At least I live some place where the government doesn't allow people to starve.

It's ba-aack. I switched from instant coffee to black tea a couple of days ago. I was afraid the tea wouldn't work, didn't have as much caffeine as the coffee, because green tea is rather weak. But one black tea bag seems to contain more caffeine than one of the cups of coffee I was making. Not much more, just enough to make me feel awake enough to enjoy my morning walk.

Once again an Internet search led me to Reddit, and, to my surprise and dismay, I found that there's an Ozempic sub-reddit. On one hand, I shouldn't be surprised because there is a sub-reddit for damn near everything (except anything that's womyn-only); on the other hand, I am surprised that Ozempic has because mainstream enough for this to even exist. When I first heard about people using Ozempic specifically for weightloss, I had the impression that it was a niche thing that a few celebrities managed to do via, presumably, private doctors because, Ozempic was originally for diabetes or something. But that doesn't look like a diabetes sub-reddit. It looks like a weightloss sub-reddit.

Drugs are almost never the answer to obesity. I don't know much about Ozempic but I do know that injecting foreign substances into the body is something that should be avoided. Even tested and approved drugs can have unforeseen side effects. Eating fewer calories/moving more is all that's required. The morbidly obese don't even have to go hungry; mere dietary changes would suffice because there's no goddamned way they are getting up to 300+ pounds on a wholesome diet. It's sick that modern medicine has come to this. It's sick that it's come to weightloss surgery. It's as if doctors have given up on patients having any kind of personal responsibility. Then again, obesity and diabetes supposedly go hand-in-hand so often that maybe these people were prescribed Ozempic for their diabetes and just so happen to be discussing the weightloss on the first couple of pages.

So I'm trying to use the vlog I mentioned as study material. The guy is way easier to listen to than my podcasts, which are all hosted by womyn. Voice pitch in the stratosphere plus sloppy pronunciation is what I get from the podcasts. Male vloggers are almost always easier and more pleasant to listen to because they don't alter their pitch or intonation as much, also they don't usually have histrionics in their videos. However, they are the main ones with choppy, circusy videos full of back-to-back memes.

The problem is that the subtitles are hardcoded. I need a way to extract them. I had to find some software that's available for linux, but it's not in my repo, so I have to install it from pypi, along with all the dependencies, but one of the dependencies requires another dependency, and to install the second dependency I had to fix a previous installation that was broken, and now I'm waiting for a twenty-minute update to finish before I can install. In between most of those steps was an internet search for figuring out the next step. It's simply amazing how long some computer things take. But I'm hellbent on processing this vlog because I need to start branching out to material for native speakers and because such material is more interesting than the textbooks.

I got a written response to my complaint to the county public transportation agency. I procrastinated, didn't open the letter for days because I didn't want to be reminded of the event that motivated the complaint nor disappointed in the response. Finally I read it yesterday on my way into town; I'd decided that would be a good time because, if something in the letter angered me, the grocery shopping could serve as a distraction. The department had reviewed the videorecording on the bus and agreed that the driver had acted unprofessionally. He supposedly got a talking to, and that's enough for me. The department agreed that they could do more to deter passengers from being noisy on the bus, but I'm not confident that much will be done. The letter also said that, although drivers should enforce the rules on the bus, they are not to do so in a way that will compromise safety. Practically, I guess that means that, while the drivers are driving, they won't try to stop any noise unless it's super loud. I don't think they can even usually hear any music or shows playing on the bus. So I'm mostly on my own.

I've confronted people on the bus about playing smartphones out loud, but I typically don't have the mental energy to deal with this. If I had the money, I'd buy a bike and a little bike trailer and brave the roar of the highway on the trail into town. But I cannot earn the money I need to accommodate the disability because the disability prevents me from working. The social worker who, I assume, is supposed to help me with the VA work program has left one message, and I've not been able to get in contact with her. No one ever answers her phone and my two messages haven't been returned. I hope she hasn't called while my phone wasn't working. The goddamned phone cord keeps getting disconnected from my voip adaptor. I hate having to rely on voip.

These blog posts get ridiculously long. I need to find a way transition to doing better things with my time than typing out some of the unnecessary details.

Looking back through the journal, I find myself saying on some days that I can eat less and saying on other days that I have to keep eating more than I want to. I wondered about the discrepancy, and now I think I've got it figured out: the days on which I exercise the most are also the days on which I can eat the least without feeling ill. So I'm going to try to exercise more.
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
Some sort of update messed up my boot process, so I had to spend three or four days troubleshooting. I didn't know that I could use a gui as the root user, so I spent the first two or three days trying to find solutions online via an agonizingly slow and difficult-to-navigate text-based browser. Once again forced to learn new things about linux.

My new shoes arrived yesterday and they are amazing. They are so light, wearing them almost feels like wearing nothing but socks. My feet feel naked in them. I feel so free it's almost disturbing, like I'm subconsciously expecting to hurt my foot because I'm walking outdoors shoeless. I was afraid they would look ugly; the website photo didn't do them justice. But they are pretty much just what I like: low-key, relatively inconspicuous, the type of shoe that can go with almost any outfit.

These new shoes have probably the thinnest sole I've ever walked in, so I was afraid the lack of padding would lead to my feet hurting more. Today was only my first day taking them for a long walk, but my feet don't hurt as much as they usually do. The track has been locked for days (I don't know why), I've been walking on asphalt mostly, but my feet are doing ok. This is one of the best purchases I've ever made.

Without any practical internet access, I felt disconnected. I'm surprised I'm not more behind in terms of Mandarin flashcards. I got tired of playing a computer game and re-watched the movie The Cloverfield Paradox. The stupid bits of movies are always so much more obvious on re-watching. The space team's environmental engineeer somehow had a security override key that allowed him to 3d-print a gun. He wasn't shown stealing the key or anything. He just had it.

Those super-doses of coffee I was taking really did a number on my libido. My sexual interest in men has receded now that I'm having a sane amount of coffee each day, and I'm both relieved and disappointed. They've begun to look grosser again, albeit not as gross as before. Maybe not so much gross as alien. My goodness, their skin is so thick, one wonders whether their tactile sensitivity is muted.

But I'm still not a lesbian, and I don't think I ever will be. One might say I never was, but then we'd get into unanswerable questions about whether the potential for attraction, albeit as yet unrealized, determines one's sexuality. It is life experience (or, more particularly, social experience) that has made the mind more important than the sex of the body for me...no, that's not quite accurate: it's more like, the mind determines whether whatever physical attraction exists can be strong enough to sustain a relationship. I could not have felt this way when I was younger because I didn't have the experience that underpins the feelings. But I can't even really speak on this with authority yet, not until I have yet more experience.

Curiously, what is most exciting is thinking about guys touching me. I'm not that interested in touching them. I like to cuddle, and they are so hard. Womyn are soft. But with womyn it's almost the opposite: I'm more interested in touching them than them touching me. But that's probably mostly because I hardly ever come across one that really suits me. Effeminate people touching me is not arousing.

What I really want is an ethical vegan. Almost nothing is more attractive. I remember watching a clip of some awards show, Joaquin Phoenix went up on stage to accept an award and started talking about animal welfare, he INSTANTLY became more attractive.

Speaking of veganism, I'd been thinking about getting a vegan-related tattoo to promote ethical veganism, but I gave up on the idea because I was going to try to move to Taiwan, where most people wouldn't be able to read the tattoo. Of course I could try to get one in Chinese, but it would be decades before I trust my knowledge of Chinese enough to get a tattoo in that language. I wouldn't get a tattoo in a language I'm not fluent in because I wouldn't know for sure what it says, all the possible interpretations and connotations.

This blog is boring because I have, as they say, no life. Or at least, not much of one. I'd say I have half a life. No, just over half. Sixty to seventy percent of a life. Unless we consider continual struggles with health and money to be life. Which they are, but, that's not really what people mean when they talk about having a life, and thinking of those things as my life is depressing as hell. Having a life is about having a career (or school at least) and a social life. Stuff like hobbies are in there too.

I am trying to get "a life." Last week, I asked my VA primary care provider for a referral to yet another veteran's employment program, one that specializes in veterans with significant barriers to employment. They have a sheltered employment program and they even pay a wage. Hopefully Trump hasn't defunded it.

I just started my derma medication again yesterday. It will do something, but I suspect it won't do enough. Either my skin won't look good until I get to Taiwan or it won't look good until I have enough money for a trip to Sacramento. Maybe I should have used my new credit card to stay in Sacramento for a few days. Motels are so expensive though, I probably wouldn't have been able to afford to stay long enough. Plus I wouldn't be able to sleep at all.

I'm afraid that I've permanently damaged my digestive system. My problems with chronic hypoglycemia didn't start until university. I wasn't taking care of myself, and, even though I'm doing much better now, it's not good enough. If the endocrinologist cannot give me some insight, I'll be stuck like this for life, probably unable to reach my weight goal. I'm continually having to eat when I do not want to.
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)

I was surprised and dismayed today to come across news about a mass shooting in Prague.

https://www.npr.org/2023/12/21/1220939974/prague-school-shooting-deaths

My beloved Czech Republic, a proper first-world country, to which I'd seriously consider moving if I could stand the cold, being shot up like it was a common USian city. How disappointing.

Today I set up my work VM on what used to be my work computer. As my freelancing career wound down (half because of illness/stress, half because of homelessness) four or five years ago, my Windows workstation became a gaming machine. Not that I'm actually a gamer—I just played a lot of Steam puzzle games.

Last year, I deleted Windows and tried to set up a sort of hacking lab with a security-based OS. But that turned out to be unusable for typing in multiple languages, so I deleted that and created a homespun security-based OS based on a bunch of libvirt VMs running on an Arch-based host. I've had that for a year now, and today I installed a work VM. I settled on Trisquel because I wanted a libre distro that I didn't have to set up from scratch (like I normally do).

I was so pleased with my PureOS gaming VM that I would have installed PureOS for work, too, but I didn't want to go through the custom keyboard hassle again. I'm still not sure whether it's even possible to use a custom keyboard in Gnome. Gnome is kinda bloated anyhow, so I deleted it and went with LXDE.

Now I'm going to start working on my writing portfolio. On my way home this evening, it occurred to me that I could self-host blogs to fill out my portfolio. An Internet presence would help me get a job, I think, but I don't want my name on the Internet. If I self-host, don't advertise, and instead just share my blog links with potential employers, I can benefit from an online portfolio without compromising my anonymity so much. I'm not sure what I'll do yet.

My monthly energy bill arrived day before yesterday. It's nearly 50% of my monthly income. January isn't going to be fun. I have no choice but to pay it because I'm on a payment plan and will be kicked off if I miss two more payments (I've already missed one). If I'm kicked off the plan, however much of the $500+ I owed last year and haven't yet paid off will all become due immediately, and, since I won't be able to pay that, my electricity will be shut off. Then I might lose my apartment because the housing authority thinks it's better to take their clients' housing away than to pay for us to have housing with no electricity or gas. At least, that was the policy of a previous housing authority that was serving me. I'm not sure about this one.

I expect February's bill to be lower; I haven't needed the heat as much. Then again, I'm not sure how much electricity my heated blanket draws. I'm assuming that running the heater costs more.

disappointed_lesbian: (Default)

Last night I installed the Linux distro PureOS in a VM. I'm used to Arch-based distros, and Debian's package manager gets on my nerves, so I wasn't overjoyed about this choice, but I wasn't planning to use it for much more than gaming. I'm trying to set up a gaming situation that is somewhat more secure than Windows with Steam. I read that Steam works on Debian, and PureOS is based on Debian, plus PureOS is certified by the FSF as a libre distro, plus Debian has gotten shadier lately. Some sort of Debian board reportedly voted to include non-free firmware in their main repo or something (they used to keep it in the non-free repo).

So after wasting hours today wrestling with PureOS' default DE (gnome) to get my custom keyboard layout recognized (because typing anything is a pain without it), I decided to just switch to LXDE, and the layout issue is resolved for now, plus I have more RAM to dedicate to vidya games. I don't know why PureOS forces a DE on users. Maybe the devs are trying to make it noob-friendly. I'm used to setting shit up from scratch on Arch-based distros now. It was nice to not have to go through all that on a new installation, but I felt constricted with a DE chosen for me.

So now the problem is that Steam (or at least the version I got from Debian's website) requires i386 libraries, but PureOS is a 64-bit only distro. I don't know whether that's get-aroundable, but I'm thinking it's not.

Given all the time I've spent setting up shit and fixing shit in Linux distros, it's a pity I'm not getting paid for it.

Today was another rough day. I managed to workout, study some Czech, take out the trash and recycling (both of which were long overdue), and take a quick trip out of town for a magical food called peanut butter powder. It's powdered roasted peanuts with most of the fat removed and salt and sugar added. Excellent for weight loss, it's kind of a low-budget second protein powder.

disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
I've tried for years to learn Arabic, but I never get anywhere for lack of good learning materials. My options for learning materials are limited because I'm hellbent on learning the language without English translation, and translation is how languages are almost always taught, it seems. Arabic grammar is apparently too complicated for Rosetta Stone's teaching format. It's certainly too complex for the shitty gamification language apps that have multiplied like roaches throughout the Internet.

Yum, I'm having a delicious apple cinnamon protein cookie for the second half of my dinner. I'm in my cozy apartment, which I don't have to share with anyone. I have a safe and more or less comfortable place to sleep tonight. It's times like these that I really appreciate being homeless, out in the cold, and in the rain especially.

Anyways...Today I tried out an app that specializes in Arabic (which is unusual; all the ones I've seen so far offer at least six or so languages). I was going to give up on it once I saw that it's only available as a mobile phone app (because I don't have a network-connected mobile phone), however, I do have virtualization software, and I even had a virtualized Android OS set up on it already, so I'm able to use the app, which is called Arabigo.

Turns it that it also is a gamification app! Gamification language apps purport to make learning fun by presenting information in a way that games are presented; in my experience, what they really do is cater to ditherers and the unmotivated, dragging the learning process out for much longer than it needs to be. Duolingo is probably the most popular one, and it's one I've tried the most times and subsequently gave up on. The stupid, cutesy presentation is annoying and the information is presented too slowly. Maybe the rate of presentation is ok for someone who has no language learning experience or a shitty memory, but for me, it drags ass. Also annoying is that the learning continually gets interrupted by notifications about user achievements, which are achieved with so little effort that they are the equivalent of participation trophies.

These are the two problems I'm having with Arabigo, but it's still early in the lessons; maybe the pace will pick up. Also, I know a few basic Arabic words, and that makes learning seem easier than it is. I have to remind myself sometimes that these apps aren't designed with an experienced learner like myself in mind.

The most attractive characteristic of this app is that the language is taught without translation. It's all pictures and words in Arabic. I find that this makes learning go more smoothly for me, as I don't have to focus on switching between two languages and I don't have to worry about imprecise translations (about which I tend to worry a lot).

My feet have been hurting. I hope three hours of walking per day + being on my feet for hours (I use my standing desk full-time now) doesn't damage them. Seems like it shouldn't be too much. Aren't hunter-gatherers on their feet for hours each day? Without any shoes even. I stand on a blanket that lies on a carpeted floor and walk on a soft track. Maybe I just need time to get used to this.

I've gone through three email applications in the past couple of days. I had to give up on the first two; the first would fail to send and receive mail for no clear reason, and the second provided no clear way for me to enter my email account password. I skipped a third because it doesn't even provide POP3 access. At least two of these three are relatively lightweight, which is what attracted me to them; now I'm with a bulkier email client that has a busier UI but seems to work fine. There aren't many email client options available in my distro repository (I'm a Linux user), presumably because it's such a privacy-and-OSS-focused distro. OS stands for Open Source Software. Privacy and non-proprietary software is definitely what I wanted, but the lack of software options cramp my style sometimes.

I can no longer stand my chilly bedclothes, so I'm on the hunt for a heated blanket or a large heated pad. Cold blankets at the beginning of the night can keep me awake all night because I tend to not fall asleep at all if I don't fall asleep soon after I've gone to bed. Because I'm so sensitive to environmental factors, a comfortable bedroom in general is crucial for me.

I half feel that I should start these blog posts earlier in the evening because I never have time to type everything I want to type and tend to forget things because I'm sleepy later in the evenings, but posting before the day is over, before everything I might want to post about has had a chance to happen, feels wrong as well.
disappointed_lesbian: (Default)
The title is purely an expression of frustration, not something I'm going to post much about here. I just wanted to set up email posting to this journal, and I can't even set up my email account.

I followed the advice I got from the VA sleep department to consolidate my sleep times. Up until a few weeks ago, I was sleep from about 2 AM to 5 AM and then from 7 or 8 AM to 11 AM or noon, with hours of lying awake in between. Now I'm sleeping in one large block, from about 2:30 AM to 8 AM, and that is supposed to be an improvement, but I'm getting less sleep, and, as I told the sleep psychologist it would, less sleep has caused my IBS to flare up. So I'm in pain after every meal that isn't very processed carbs (basically only wheat, but I might be able to handle potatoes). I'm also frustrated and tired for a large part of the day, but I'm still unable to fall asleep any earlier than 2 AM.

The sleep restriction was supposed to help me, but it isn't helping me. There seems to be some belief ("belief" is the the right word but I cannot think of the right word at the moment) behind this CBT, the belief that being sleepier will result in more sleep, but I have ample experience to show me that this isn't true for me. Ongoing experience.

I remember the psychologist telling me that she could help me shift my bedtime to an earlier hour once my sleep was consolidated; I very much want that information, but I lost her contact information. I don't have long-distance phone service, so I can't even call her without having to pay something extra on next month's phone bill.

In the meantime, I guess I'm going to try to shift my bedtime by taking melatonin. It didn't work the other times I tried it; stronger sleep medications didn't even work to shift the hour at which I could fall asleep. But I took the melatonin several hours earlier than I did the other times I tried it, and I'm going to try for only a five-minute shift tonight.

So far, I haven't been able to go to bed even ten minutes earlier without lying awake all night, which has been maddening and so weird. Why should a measly ten minutes make such a difference? Maybe it's the autism making me so sensitive to the slightest change? I once found myself unable to sleep because I'd set the thermostat a mere five degrees F lower than I usually set it. I went back to my old thermostat setting the next night, and the problem disappeared that very night. Crazy.

I suppose I should also cut out screens shortly, or, the screen on this laptop at least. I have blue light blocking filters on my other computers. Trying and failing to get that installed on this laptop is one of the failures that contributed to the frustration that motivated this blog post's title.
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:10 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios