May. 21st, 2021

disappointed_lesbian: (Default)

I was about to go out for another box of spinach. I called the hotline for checking food stamp balances (I'm on food stamps because I'm wicked poor), I found out that I had nearly a hundred extra dollars worth of stamps. I double-checked online (because picking out a bunch of stuff at the store and then finding that I don't actually have the funds for it would be really shitty) and found that I'd been granted an extra ninety-five dollars' worth.

Some online research showed that Biden had signed something or other so that more food stamp recipients were given an emergency allotment of benefits. Because my income is so low, I get the maximum amount of monthly benefits, and, previously, people receiving the maximum amount were not eligible for the emergency allotment. But we are now!

I just got back from the 24-hour grocery store, where I got myself some organic blueberries, some cranberry/pomegranate juice (100% juice! the bottle says...the bottle also lists filtered water as the first ingredient, so I don't know what to think), which is made up my two favorite fruit juice (which are also probably the two most expensive fruit juices), some tofurkey deli slices and protein wheat wraps (for my high-protein wraps, which I use to help me build muscle and feel satiated), a pound of organic mushrooms (for the veggie stew I have every evening), and some Chao spicy tomato flavor vegan cheese slices.

This really made my day. Before this, I was worried that I'd run out of protein powder (which is huge part of my daily menu, and which I cannot buy with food stamps) before the end of the month. The protein wraps can take the place of one protein powder meal. The only thing that nags at me is thinking about when my extra benefits will end. I'm guessing this emergency benefit allotment is a one-time disbursement, but I've also been getting an extra 15% each month because of the Covid. That extra thirty bucks has really been helpful, and adjusting to losing it will be a pain in the ass.

Suddenly switching gears here...I've been having random mild pain in my vulva, and down somewhere inside me that I'm afraid is in my uterus. I don't know what to make of it. For years I'd occasionally have rectal pain, and I wondered for years whether I might have colon cancer or something like that. Well, I finally had a colonoscopy last January, and my colon was healthy. So I'm thinking that maybe the vulva pain is nothing as well. But I worry.

I absolutely love getting my hair buzzed down to the scalp. I love love love the feeling and the look of a buzzed scalp (not just on me but on other women). I cut my hair yesterday and I'm in love with it.

The hair on top, I've grown it out a bit longer than I've been keeping it for years. It's sitting like a low flat top right now. I originally grew it out to see whether I could style it nice with this special comb called the Twist It Up comb, which I bought last month.

The comb worked for a while; now it doesn't work the way it did. I don't know what's changed. It doesn't make little curlies in my hair anymore, so at first I decided to go back to the style with my hair lower on top. But I like the contrast between the buzzed sides and back and the extra hair on top, and the extra height helps give my face the rectangular shape I prefer.

I'm so glad that I don't have a round face. That's my least favorite facial shape. On me and on others. I've noticed that the way I like to look tends to also be the way I like other people to look.

Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios